Never and Forever – What Easter Means to Me


The last time I was perfect: never.

The meaning of Easter to me is that I never have to worry about never being forever.

Believing in God is optional. There are always new beginnings.

For me, I believe in God. Nothing more specific than that. God is.

God may be the universe. God may be a being. God may be perfect or not. I don’t know.

When I fathom the universe, I cannot imagine how it came to be from nothing. What was here before nothing? Before the void? I don’t know that either. And neither do you. So if it is possible that time had no beginning then what are the incredible chances that there could not be God — whether one or many. These are things I cannot know. Will never know.

The message of the season for all religions, or even those who are atheists but acknowledge that it is spring, all things can begin anew. There are always new beginnings.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Never and Forever – What Easter Means to Me

  1. Once again, we share a very similar view of the universe. Surprisingly, Buddhist philosophy best captures my view of the world. In Buddhism, “God” is also optional. The idea that westerners mistake for “reincarnation” is actually the recognition that we are all part of the same whole and occasionally instantiate in many different forms over time. Buddhist cosmology posits that people are reborn into many worlds, in which they take on several forms. We don’t necessarily carry any consciousness with us. This occurs as the universe expands and contracts in an endless cycle (realizing “endless” itself is only a concept developed by men as a result of that evolutionary “quirk” we refer to as rationality and our need to explain things. There is no mathematical “proof” for “endless”). Simply put, I like to think of myself as “stardust” enjoying this brief instantiation and the people (actually all living things) who chance happened to instantiate at the same brief moment in time (again, a human invention necessary to explain the laws of physics) with me. I’m ok with that.

    This could turn into a conversation about natural law, secular humanism and why we should worry about others in the absence of the threat of eternal punishment for doing otherwise; however, perhaps that’s a different conversation. Perhaps we’ll get a chance to chat about it some day.

    Al’s law of “everything”: Everything is a math problem, we just don’t understand the math.

Leave a Reply

