Bill4DogCatcher endorses ___ for president in 2012.


Someone asked, and for a week now the GOP has put the question out there for you and me to think about: Are we better off than 4 years ago?

Life has been challenging. Business has been challenging — and I say that as a CEO of a small but global company.

I’ve always considered myself a conservative, a Reagan Democrat … a Blue Dog if you like that term. You can call me a RINO too — I don’t really care. I’ve become rather fond of the term RINO (Really Independent & Not Obnoxious).

Bottomline: I generally vote Republican 70-80% of the time … although my last three votes for governor and senator in Virginia have been for Democrats, but Republicans at the local level. As to that nagging question: are we better off as a nation than 4 years ago? YES, yes, yes. … We are a bit bruised, have low expectations for more than minimal jobs growth in the foreseeable future, and know that our world has fundamentally changed and it will never be 2007 again. There is nothing to take our country back to — back four years ago — that was better than today … not that I’m so crazy about today as to think life is just grand.

Better than four years ago? Yes. We are no longer hemorraging hundreds of thousands of jobs every month, month after month. We are no longer losing our savings and retirement funds to trying to save our homes and our businesses. We are not doing great, our income is a bit lower, but we are stable … and that fiscal cliff scares me. 2013 could be a real bitch of a year, and 2014 as well.

Are we better off four years later?

All recessions eventually work themselves out. But are we better off than 4 years ago? Things are fragile but stable … which beats the alternative of losing jobs every month.

As to that fiscal cliff, President Barack Obama did not bring or lead us to this point. If you want to point fingers we should all start with ourselves and the political leaders of both parties, past and present, that won’t make the hard choices and be truthful about 1+1=2 and deficits, and …

Bill4DogCatcher.com endorses ____.

I have endorsed Gary Johnson, Libertarian. I may well vote Libertarian in November. I have said I would and I am usually pretty dogged about doing what I say.

>> However, should it come to picking just between President Obama and Governor Romney then my choice would be to vote Obama.

There, I’ve said it. Hate me. Call me a RINO … I don’t really care.

I’m just going to sit here with my cup of coffee in my McCain 2008 coffee mug thinking to myself: what a bunch of nutcases the GOP has become. Call me when sanity knocks again at the door.

Best regards,
Bill G

Corporate profit growth since Great Recession

Profits have been hard to come by for small businesses, which did the great majority of hiring of workers, but the last four years have been very good for someone … just not the American workforce.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bill4DogCatcher endorses ___ for president in 2012.

  1. Billie,
    I have read through your treatise and can find no reason you would vote for Gary Johnson other tha the fact he is a Libertarian. Yes he was the governor of New Mexico twice and may well have restricted the growth of New Mexico. And now he proposes to cut federal spending by 43%. Prithee tell me how he would do that except tdo something similar to what Romney/Ryan propose to do. I realize that everything that Bill Clinton said last night but I do have to say, and you have already said, we really are better off than we were four years ago. Yes, we have millions of people who are still unemployed, but a good deal of this is due to the fact that their what may be consider out of date skill set no longer matches the requirements of industry. THAT is something that needs to be fixed. Several years ago while I was still on active duty, I studied Demimg and still am an advocate of his Total Quality Improvemt. He and others advocated linking community colleges and local industries to build programs that would prepare people for entry into the local workforce. That is still needed and if I understood whe speech elast night, that is one of Obama’s plans to solve the unemployment problem. Of course, this will not happen overnight because the problem did not happen overnight.
    So what I guess I am saying, what does Johnson have to offer to correct this mess other than cutting federal spending by 43%?
    Don’t waste your vote– vote for someone who at least is trying.

Leave a Reply

